League News: Southern League Cup Kicks off

Despite the Dolphins receiving a bye in the preliminary round, other teams from the Southern League’s four divisions began their cup campaign this week.

According to the Southern League, the draw for the next round will take place within the next week.

Any first-round games will be scheduled to be played from October the 4th onwards.

With the draw regionalised, it is likely that Poole will face Dorset rivals Dorchester or Wimborne, or even near neighbours Lymington.

Other potential match-ups could be AFC Totton, Sholing and Salisbury.

Dolphins are one time winners of the competition, beating Corby Town in a two-legged final back in 2015.

The competition has not been completed since 2019, when Stratford beat Cinderford in a single-legged final.

Since rejoining the Southern League in 2011, Dolphins have faced Dorset rivals eight times, and Hampshire based sides four times out of 15 different ties.

Monday 6th September
Evesham United 2 – 3 Banbury United
Barwell 0 – 2 Alvechurch
Redditch United v Merthyr Town – POSTPONED

Tuesday 7th September
Barnstaple Town 3 – 3 Plymouth Parkway – Barnstaple Town win 4-3 on penalties
Barton Rovers v Biggleswade Town – POSTPONED
Bideford AFC 1 – 1 Taunton TownTaunton Town win 4-2 on penalties
Cirencester Town 5 – 3 Stratford Town
Colney Heath 2 – 2 Hertford Town – Colney Heath win 6-5 on penalties
Hendon 3 – 4 Harrow Borough
North Leigh v Beaconsfield Town – POSTPONED
Royston Town v Welwyn Garden City – POSTPONED
St Ives Town 0 – 1 Lowestoft Town
Swindon Supermarine 4 – 1 Larkhall Athletic
Tamworth 1 – 3 Coalville Town

Wednesday 8th September
Gosport Borough 1 – 2 Winchester City
Paulton Rovers v Highworth Town – POSTPONED
Willand Rovers 5 – 1 Tiverton Town
Farnborough 3 – 4 Metropolitan Police

Monday 13th September
Redditch United v Merthyr Town – REARRANGED

Tuesday 14th September
Barton Rovers v Biggleswade Town – REARRANGED
North Leigh v Beaconsfield Town – REARRANGED
Royston Town v Welwyn Garden City – REARRANGED

Wednesday 15th September
Paulton Rovers v Highworth Town – REARRANGED

Southern League Premier South: Chesham United, Dorchester Town, Hartley Wintney, Hayes & Yeading United, Kings Langley, Poole Town, Salisbury, Truro City, Walton Casuals, Weston-super-Mare, Wimborne Town, Yate Town. (12)
Southern League Premier Central: AFC Rushden & Diamonds, Bromsgrove Sporting, Hednesford Town, Hitchin Town, Leiston, Needham Market, Nuneaton Borough, Peterborough Sports, Rushall Olympic, Stourbridge. (10)
Southern League Division Central:
AFC Dunstable, Aylesbury United, Bedford Town, Berkhamsted, Biggleswade, Didcot Town, FC Romania, Harlow Town, Kempston Rovers, Kidlington, St Neots Town, Thame United, Waltham Abbey, Ware, Wantage Town. (15)
Southern League Division South: AFC Totton, Lymington Town, Bristol Manor Farm, Cinderford Town, Frome Town, Mangotsfield United, Melksham Town, Sholing, Slimbridge. (9)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: